Bola Tinubu emerges the winner of the 2023 presidential election.

Bola Tinubu emerges the winner of the 2023 presidential election.

Bola Tinubu emerged the winner of the 2023 presidential election.

The INEC chairman Yakubu Mahmood announced Tinubu as the winner of the just concluded election and president-elect Wednesday morning at the International Conference Centre, Abuja.


18 presidential candidates contested in the election held across the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja, on Saturday.


The election was shifted till Sunday in some polling units in different states due to violence, logistical problems, theft of BVAS and other issues.


After the collation at state INEC collation centres, the election results were brought by state collation officers for the presidential election (SCOPs) before the INEC chairman at the National Collation Centre.



Mahmood Yakubu announced Bola Tinubu, the former Lagos State governor and the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) won the election.


Bola Tinubu polled 8,794,726 votes to defeat other contenders – Atiku Abubakar of the opposition People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 6,984,520 votes, Labour Party’s Peter Obi had 6,101,533 votes to come third and candidate of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) Rabiu Kwankwaso with 1,496,687 votes.


Out of the 36 states and FCT, Tinubu, Obi, and Atiku Abubakar won 12 states each while Kwankwaso won only Kano State.


The 12 states Tinubu won are Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Kwara, Benue, Rivers, Borno, Zamfara, Jigawa, Ondo, Kogi and Niger State.


Atiku Abubakar of the PDP won Taraba, Osun, Akwa Ibom, Adamawa, Kaduna, Sokoto, Yobe, Bayelsa, Kebbi, Bauchi, Gombe and Katsina.


Peter Obi won the following states; Ebonyi, Enugu, Imo, Anambra, Abia, Delta, Edo, FCT, Plateau, Nasarawa, Lagos and Cross River.




The INEC chairman said “I now perform my responsibility as chief returning officer of the federation,”


“I, professor Mahmood Yakubu, hereby certify that I am the returning officer for the 2023 general election. The election was contested.


“That Tinubu Bola Ahmed of the APC, having certified the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner and is returned.”


See the list of the result below:


A – 61,014

AA – 14,542

AAC – 14,608

ADC – 81,919

ADP – 43,924

APC – 8,794,726

APGA – 61,966

APM – 25,961

APP – 12,839

BP – 16,156

LP – 6,101,533

NNPP – 1,496,687

NRM – 24,869

PDP – 6,984,520

PRP – 72,144

SDP – 80,267

YPP – 60,600

ZLP – 77,665

INEC stressed the calls by Labour Party (LP) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the resignation of the commission’s chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu, as misplaced and irresponsible.


The presidential election officials of PDP, Senator Dino Melaye, and LP, Hon. Umar Farouk Ibrahim, had while speaking with journalists on Monday after staging a walkout at the collation centre in Abuja accused the INEC chairman of rigging elections for the ruling party.

“We are, therefore, calling for Professor Yakubu to step aside from his role as INEC Chairman and for a credible personality from outside the commission to take his place and see this process to a conclusion that would be acceptable to all stakeholders and would restore the confidence of the international community in our democratic process and institutions.”

Stating the facts that the collation of result was a mere allocation of results, National Chairman of PDP, Iyorchia Ayu, said same results were awarded to parties in Bauchi and Gombe presidential results. He said, INEC awarded identical presidential results to PDP, APC and LP in Gombe and Bauchi states. Ayu noted that INEC awarded 146977 to APC, 319123 to PDP and 26160 to Labour Party in Gombe and repeated the same process in Bauchi.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *